RSS Feed

Tag Archives: Disneyland Park

June 24

June 24, 1972 – The Specialty Shop Crystal Arts Opens in Disneyland

“Etch marks the spot at this Main Street, U.S.A. mainstay!”

On June 24, 1972, the specialty shop Crystal Arts opened on Main Street in Disneyland. Presented by the Arribas Brothers, the store creates special pieces based on Disney characters and places, as well as glassware and tiaras that guests can have engraved. Versions of this store have also opened in Walt Disney World (opening in 1971) and Tokyo Disneyland (opening in 1986).

June 23

June 23, 1995 – The Quick Service Stand Meeko’s Opens in Disneyland

On June 23, 1995, the quick service stand Meeko’s opened in Disneyland. Originally called Yumz, the stand changed its name after The Spirit of Pocahontas live stage show premiered at Videopolis; the stand was named after the racoon character from the animated feature film Pocahontas. It served quick, basic food, such as nachos and pizza. It closed on September 5, 1997.

June 22

June 22, 1985 – Videopolis Opens in Disneyland

“Neon, flashing lights, special effects, live bands, and hot new videos combine in a musical kaleidoscope of sight and sound at Videopolis.”

On June 22, 1985, the building Videopolis opened in Disneyland, right next to Fantasyland. The area was originally conceived as a teen dance club, with a 5,000-square foot dance floor, screens showcasing the latest music videos, and cutting-edge special effects. The concept eventually changed, with seats taking the place of the dance floor, and the area being used to showcase outdoor stage shows, such as for Beauty and the Beast. On June 23, 1995, the area was renamed the Fantasyland Theater.

June 19

June 19, 1992 – The World According to Goofy Parade Kicks Off in Disneyland

“From the pyramids to politics, Goofy brought the hyucks to history.”

On June 19, 1992, the celebration parade The World According to Goofy kicked off in Disneyland. Celebrating the character’s 60th birthday, the parade takes important events in history and gives them a “Goofy” twist, including Cleopatra’s Egypt and the 4th of July. The parade ended its run on November 15, 1992.

June 16

June 16, 1956 – The Rafts to Tom Sawyer Island Attraction Opens in Disneyland

“Journey by log raft across the Rivers of America and discover a mysterious place rumored to contain long-lost treasure.”

On June 16, 1956, the Rafts to Tom Sawyer Island attraction opened in Disneyland’s Frontierland. The rafts take guests to Tom Sawyer Island, where they can look for the buried treasure as they immerse themselves in the stories of the classic character created by Mark Twain. The dock where guests board the rafts has moved over the years as the Frontierland area has undergone massive changes. The rafts and the island itself have the unique distinction of being the old Disneyland attraction designed by Walt Disney himself. Versions of this attraction have also opened in Walt Disney World and Tokyo Disneyland.

June 14

June 14, 1958 – The Columbia Sailing Ship Attraction Opens in Disneyland

“Sail boldly forth into the wilderness on a full-scale replica of a majestic 3-masted ship from the 18th century.”

On June 14, 1958, the Columbia Sailing Ship attraction opened in Disneyland’s Frontierland. Based on the original ship that circumnavigated the globe in 1787, the ship was meticulously designed to be extremely accurate to the time, and includes several displays that portray life for sailors in the 18th century. The ship sails in the Rivers of America, circling the Pirate’s Lair on Tom Sawyer Island.

June 10

June 10, 1960 – The Pack Mules Through Nature’s Wonderland Attraction Opens

On June 10, 1960, the Pack Mules Through Nature’s Wonderland attraction opened in Disneyland’s Frontierland. This was the third incarnation of this type of attraction, as it was previously Rainbow Ridge Pack Mules (open from 1956 through 1959) and Mule Pack (open from 1955 through 1956). Guests rode on mules through Frontierland past several Disneyland landmarks to the town of Rainbow Ridge, which can still be found in the shadow of Big Thunder Mountain. The attraction was closed in 1973.