RSS Feed

Tag Archives: Hollywood Records

September 29

September 29, 2009 – The Debut Album Kiss & Tell by Selena Gomez & the Scene is Released


“Where are your friends now, baby? Aren’t they the ones supposed to be there for you?”

On September 29, 2009, the debut album by the band Selena Gomez & the Scene, titled Kiss & Tell, was released through Hollywood Records. Gomez had been a Disney Channel star on The Wizards of Waverly Place since 2007, and had sung the theme song for the show; she also started making appearances on various soundtrack albums, which led to a record contract in 2008 with Disney-owned Hollywood Records. Wanting to be part of a band rather than have a solo career, the band members were quickly assembled, with Gomez naming them The Scene in a tongue-in-cheek way of teasing her critics. The album released two promotional singles, “Falling Down” and “Naturally,” with varying degrees of success. The album received mixed to positive reviews from critics, peaking at number nine on the Billboard 200.


September 28

September 28, 2004 – The Self-Titled Third Studio Album by Hilary Duff is Released Through Hollywood Records


“Can you hear it calling? Can you feel it in your soul? Can you trust this longing and take control?”

On September 28, 2004, the self-titled third studio album by Disney Channel star Hilary Duff was released by Hollywood Records. The album contained two promotional singles: “Fly” and “Someone’s Watching Over Me.” While critical reviews ranged from mixed to negative, the album debuted and peaked at number two on the Billboard 200, selling 192,000 copies in its first week. It would eventually go on to be certified platinum by the RIAA. The album fared better in Canada, peaking at number one on the Canadian Albums Chart and going on to be certified triple platinum.

August 31

August 31, 1990 – The Party Releases Eponymous Debut Album

The Party

“Gotta break away from this day to day, gotta get away, on this summer vacation.”

On August 31, 1990, the eponymous debut album of pop recording group The Party was released through Hollywood Records; it was one of the label’s first releases since its formation in 1989. The Party featured Mickey Mouse Club members Albert Fields, Chase Hampton, Deedee Magno Hall, Damon Pampolina, and Tiffini Hale. The album featured three singles: “Summer Vacation,” “I Found Love,” and “That’s Why.” Overall, the album peaked at #116 on the Billboard 200.

August 16

August 16, 2005 – Into the Rush, the Debut Album by Aly & AJ, is Released Through Hollywood Records


“Don’t let nobody tell you your life is over, be every color that you are.”

On August 16, 2005, the debut album of recording artists Aly & AJ, titled Into the Rush, was released through Hollywood Records. The album featured several promotional singles, including two cover songs: “Do You Believe in Magic” originally by The Lovin’ Spoonful and “Walking on Sunshine” originally by Katrina and the Waves. The album received favorable reviews, and debuted on the Billboard 200 at number 36. A deluxe version of the album was released almost a year later with two more singles: “Rush” and “Chemicals React.” Combined sales of the album and the deluxe album made the album the 112th bestselling album in 2006.

July 26

July 26, 2005 – The Soundtrack for Sky High is Released Through Hollywood Records

Sky High Soundtrack

“I’ll stop the world and melt with you.”

On July 26, 2005, the soundtrack for the live-action film Sky High was released through Hollywood Records. The album is a compilation of covers of popular songs from the 1980s, including “I Melt With You” performed by Bowling for Soup, “Just What I needed” performed by Caleigh Peters, and “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” performed by Christian Burns. “I Melt With You” was the only single released to promote the album. The album has received mixed reviews.

July 21

July 21, 2009 – Demi Lovato’s Second Album Here We Go Again is Released Through Hollywood Records


“Should have known better than trying to let you go, cause here we go, go, go again.”

On July 21, 2009, the second studio album by recording artist and Disney Channel star Demi Lovato, entitled Here We Go Again, was released through Hollywood Records. The album was titled after its lead single, which was released on June 23; the second single was “Remember December,” which was released on January 18, 2010. Lovato worked with a variety of songwriters to give the album a more mature sound than her debut effort. The album was a critical success, debuting at number 1 on the Billboard 200, and going on to Gold certification.

July 13

July 13, 2004 – The Soundtrack to A Cinderella Story is Released Through Hollywood Records


“Give no mind to what they say, it doesn’t matter anyway, our lips are sealed.”

On July 13, 2004, the soundtrack to the live-action film A Cinderella Story, starring Disney Channel star Hilary Duff, was released through Walt Disney Records. The soundtrack featured songs by other Disney recording artists, such as Jesse McCartney, as well as other recording artists, including the Goo Goo Dolls and Edwin McCain. It peaked at the top position on the Billboard Soundtrack Albums list, and at number 9 on the Billboard 200.

June 29

June 29, 2004 – Breaking Benjamin’s Second Album We Are Not Alone is Released Through Hollywood Records


“Show me how defenseless you really are, satisfied and empty inside.”

On June 29, 2004, the second album by rock band Breaking Benjamin entitled We Are Not Alone was released through Hollywood Records. The group, having signed with the record label in 2002, worked with Smashing Pumpkins front man Billy Corgan to create three songs for the album. The album peaked at number 20 on the Billboard 200, eventually being certified platinum. Since its release, the album has garnered mixed to positive reviews.

April 29

April 29, 2008 – The Eponymous Album Raven-Symoné is Released Through Hollywood Records


“[It’s] a party album. There are only 2 slow songs, but it’s really energetic.”

On April 29, 2008, the fourth eponymously titled studio album by artist Raven-Symoné was released through Hollywood Records. The album only released two singles: “Double Dutch Bus,” a cover of the 1981 funk song by Frankie Smith; the single was used to promote Raven-Symoné’s film College Road Trip. The other single was “Anti-Love Song,” released on March 27, 2009. The album peaked at number 159 on the Billboard 200.

April 6

April 6, 1996 – The Band Fastball Releases Debut Album Through Hollywood Records


“Are you ready for the fallout? Who you gonna call out?”

On April 6, 1996, the debut album for the band Fastball, entitled Make Your Mama Proud, was released through Hollywood Records. The band, native to Austin, Texas, had been recommended to the Disney-owned record label thanks to the efforts of a local journalist. The album had one minor hit with the promotional single “Are You Ready for the Fallout?” but overall did not sell very well, selling under 6,000 copies. The band wouldn’t find success until the 1998 album All the Pain Money Can Buy and the hit single “The Way”