RSS Feed

September 19

September 19, 1989 – Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is Inducted in the National Film Registry


“The National Film Registry selects 25 films each year showcasing the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.”

On September 19, 1989, the first 25 films to be inducted in the Library of Congress’ National Film Registry. The Registry, established the previous year thanks to the National Film Preservation Act, works to conserve works that establish America’s film heritage. The public nominated up to 1,000 films for inclusion, with Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs being the only animated narrative feature on the list. Several Disney and Pixar films have followed suit, including Fantasia in 1990, Pinocchio in 1994, Beauty and the Beast in 2002, Toy Story in 2005, and Bambi in 2011.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: